Skip to main content


The Wu Tsai Institute is a new model for neuroscience research. Its joint academic and administrative leadership work as a team, in close collaboration with talented faculty and staff and with advisory bodies of internal and external stakeholders. Together they foster and champion research that is accelerating our understanding of human cognition.

Institute Directors

The Wu Tsai Institute is a university-wide organization that spans multiple Yale schools and departments and that covers a broad range of scientific disciplines that contribute to our mission. This breadth is reflected in the leadership team, consisting of an overall Institute Director (Nick Turk-Browne), Associate Directors who each direct one of the Centers (Daniel Colón-Ramos, John Lafferty, Kia Nobre), and a Managing Director (Kelley Remole).

Institute Committees

The scale and ambition of the Wu Tsai Institute requires ideas and contributions from thought leaders throughout Yale and beyond. A Steering Committee of Deans, Chairs, and at-large faculty provides guidance and oversight, and helps disseminate information to our many constituent communities. A world-class External Advisory Board offers outside counsel and shares experience from peer institutions. Additional faculty committees within the Institute provide representation, transparency, and engagement on many Institute programs and activities, including a Hiring Committee, Membership Committee, Award Committees, and several working groups and interest areas. The voices of trainees are heard through the Student and Postdoc Committee.

Steering Committee

Jutta Joormann, Co-chair
Stephen Strittmatter, Co-chair

  • Amy Arnsten, At Large
  • Abhishek Bhattacharjee, At Large
  • Jeffrey Brock, Ex Officio
  • John Carlson, At Large
  • Joseph Chang, Ex Officio
  • Daniel Colón-Ramos
  • Michael Crair, Ex Officio
  • James Duncan, Ex Officio
  • Larry Gladney, Ex Officio
  • Murat Gunel, Ex Officio
  • David Hafler, Ex Officio
  • Scott Holley, Ex Officio
  • Tony Koleske, Ex Officio
  • John Krystal, Ex Officio
  • John Lafferty 
  • Rajit Manohar, At Large
  • Linda Mayes, Ex Officio
  • Gregory McCarthy, At Large
  • Wendy Berry Mendes, At Large
  • Kia Nobre
  • Marina Picciotto, At Large
  • Holly Rushmeier, Ex Officio
  • Kenneth Scheve, Ex Officio
  • Dan Spielman, Ex Officio
  • Nick Turk-Browne

External Advisory Board

  • Jonathan Cohen, Princeton University
  • James DiCarlo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Leslie Greengard, New York University and Flatiron Institute
  • Carla Shatz, Stanford University
  • Daphna Shohamy, Columbia University

Hiring Committee

Nick Turk-Browne, Professor of Psychology, Chair

  • Nii Addy, Associate Professor of Psychiatry 
  • Amy Arnsten, Professor of Neuroscience 
  • Damon Clark, Associate Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology 
  • Daniel Colón-Ramos, Professor of Neuroscience and Cell Biology 
  • Elizabeth Goldfarb, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry 
  • Julian Jara-Ettinger, Assistant Professor of Psychology 
  • Smita Krishnaswamy, Associate Professor of Computer Science and Genetics 
  • John Lafferty, Professor of Statistics and Data Science 
  • Ifat Levy, Professor of Comparative Medicine 
  • Rajit Manohar, Professor of Electrical Engineering 
  • John Murray, Associate Professor of Psychiatry 
  • Priya Panda, Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering 

Student and Postdoc Committee

Gustavo Madeira Santana, Co-chair
Sara Sanchez-Alonso, Co-chair

  • Braedyn Au 
  • Sylvia Blackmore 
  • Erica Busch 
  • Harper Cho 
  • Sheri Choi 
  • Evyn Dickinson 
  • Shadé Eleazer 
  • Gloria Fang 
  • Leah Harmon 
  • David Meseguer 
  • Jacob Miller 
  • Pablo Munoz 
  • Lester Rodriguez
  • Rosa Serrano 
  • Lam Vo