Skip to main content


The Wu Tsai Institute is a new model for neuroscience research. Its joint academic and administrative leadership work as a team, in close collaboration with talented faculty and staff and with advisory bodies of internal and external stakeholders. Together they foster and champion research that is accelerating our understanding of human cognition.

Institute Directors

The Wu Tsai Institute is a university-wide organization that spans multiple Yale schools and departments and that covers a broad range of scientific disciplines that contribute to our mission. This breadth is reflected in the leadership team, consisting of an overall Institute Director (Nick Turk-Browne), Associate Directors who each direct one of the Centers (Daniel Colón-Ramos, John Lafferty, Kia Nobre), and a Managing Director (Kelley Remole).

  1. Nicholas Turk-Browne, Director of the Wu Tsai Institute and Professor of Psychology
  2. Kelley Remole portrait
  3. Daniel Colon Ramos
  4. John Lafferty
  5. Kia Nobre, Wu Tsai Institute, Photo by Ian Christmann
  • Director

    Nick Turk-Browne

    Professor of Psychology

    View profile
  • Managing Director

    Kelley Remole

    View profile
  • Associate Director

    Daniel Colón-Ramos

    Director of the Center for Neurodevelopment and Plasticity + Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Neuroscience and Cell Biology

    View profile
  • Associate Director

    John Lafferty

    Director of the Center for Neurocomputation and Machine Intelligence + John C. Malone Professor of Statistics and Data Science

    View profile
  • Associate Director

    Kia Nobre

    Director of the Center for Neurocognition and Behavior + Wu Tsai Professor of Psychology

    View profile

Institute Committees

The scale and ambition of the Wu Tsai Institute requires ideas and contributions from thought leaders throughout Yale and beyond. A Steering Committee of Deans, Chairs, and at-large faculty provides guidance and oversight, and helps disseminate information to our many constituent communities. A world-class External Advisory Board offers outside counsel and shares experience from peer institutions. Additional faculty committees within the Institute provide representation, transparency, and engagement on many Institute programs and activities, including a Hiring Committee, Membership Committee, Award Committees, and several working groups and interest areas. The voices of trainees are heard through the Student and Postdoc Committee.

Steering Committee

Jutta Joormann, Co-chair
Stephen Strittmatter, Co-chair

  • Amy Arnsten, At Large
  • Jeffrey Brock, Ex Officio
  • Damon Clark, At Large
  • Daniel Colón-Ramos
  • Michael Crair, Ex Officio
  • James Duncan, Ex Officio
  • Larry Gladney, Ex Officio
  • Murat Gunel, Ex Officio
  • David Hafler, Ex Officio
  • Scott Holley, Ex Officio
  • Anthony Koleske, Ex Officio
  • John Krystal, Ex Officio
  • John Lafferty
  • Rajit Manohar, At Large
  • Linda Mayes, Ex Officio
  • Gregory McCarthy, At Large
  • Wendy Berry Mendes, At Large
  • Kia Nobre
  • Marina Picciotto, At Large
  • Holly Rushmeier, Ex Officio
  • Kenneth Scheve, Ex Officio
  • Dan Spielman, Ex Officio
  • Nick Turk-Browne
  • Yihong Wu, Ex Officio

External Advisory Board

  • Jonathan Cohen, Princeton University
  • James DiCarlo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Leslie Greengard, New York University and Flatiron Institute
  • Carla Shatz, Stanford University
  • Daphna Shohamy, Columbia University

Hiring Committee

Nick Turk-Browne, Professor of Psychology, Chair

  • George Dragoi, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and of Neuroscience
  • Thierry Emonet, Professor of Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology & Physics
  • Emilia Favuzzi, Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
  • Elizabeth Goldfarb, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
  • John Lafferty, Professor of Statistics and Data Science
  • Rajit Manohar, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Sam McDougle, Assistant Professor of Psychology
  • Kia Nobre, Professor of Psychology
  • Daniel Colón-Ramos, Professor of Neuroscience and Cell Biology
  • Cristina Rodriguez, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
  • Shreya Saxena, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
  • Rex Ying, Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Student and Postdoc Committee

Gustavo Madeira Santana, Co-chair
Sara Sanchez-Alonso, Co-chair

  • Braedyn Au 
  • Sylvia Blackmore 
  • Erica Busch 
  • Harper Cho 
  • Sheri Choi 
  • Evyn Dickinson 
  • Shadé Eleazer 
  • Gloria Fang 
  • Leah Harmon 
  • David Meseguer 
  • Jacob Miller 
  • Pablo Munoz 
  • Lester Rodriguez
  • Rosa Serrano 
  • Lam Vo